A Favorite Person Passes On

This week I’ve been sad since a very dear friend and mentor, Dr. Maxine Huffman, has passed away. She was (and her husband Don still is) a prime example of why and how special Central College is for many alumni. Every time Grandpa Ron and I visited the Central campus, we always made sure we arranged a visit or meal to catch up with the Huffmans. We appreciated and embraced their view on life and the world. She will be missed by many, many people all over the world.

Here is an after dinner photo from last Fall in Pella, IA, with favorite people Barbara Butler, Maxine and Don Huffman.

Here is a photo from the very first time I met the Huffmans and the Butlers on a Rüdesheim Rhine River Cruise (a one afternoon cruise version) in the Summer of 1972 at the start of the ’72-’73 Central College Vienna Study Program. Left to right: Jovan Stojsic, Frau Haydon, Don Butler, Don Huffman, Maxine Huffman, and Barbara Butler. Looks to me like they’re having a pleasant afternoon. Little did I know on that day how I’d end up with a double major in German – my intended major – and in English – where Maxine became my English Dept. Advisor – and that my work/study job would find me in the International Studies Office helping Barbara Butler! Our friendships continue on to this day!

I have more info on the page created from the CaringBridge site – I don’t know how long the CaringBridge pages will continue being there.

I have more upbeat entries in my usual blogs on https://mygrandmasue.wordpress.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

